Smashbox

Hi guys! 

As you guys might have noticed, my previous post was all about Smashbox. What exactly is Smashbox and why do I seem so obsessed with it? 

I have been using Sephora’s foundations and Dior’s BB-creams for a long time but since I can’t find any of these similar products in the Netherlands anymore, I figured it’s time to switch to another brand and try. out something new. I had in mind to buy M.A.C Cosmetics because a lot of celebs use these and it looks absolutely gorgeouson them. So last Friday I went to this shop where, I thought, they sell M.A.C products. My bad, they didn’t. I was kinda disappointed because I really needed a new foundation so the saleslady told me they did sell a similar brand called ‘Smashbox’.

Of course I had heard of this brand before but I didn’t know that these products were just as good; which should be quite neccessary because Smashbox foundations are even more expensive than M.A.C’s. The woman tried some products out on me (foundation, concealer and a setting powder) and the result was absolutely wonderful. I couldn’t even believe that there was an actual foundation out there that really matched my skintone. 

The foundation cost 37,- and the concealer cost 23,-. I didn’t really ask about the setting powder because I haven’t finished my own yet (MUA). I was gonna buy the foundation for sure but mom told me to buy the concealer as well because it looked really good. So it would be 60,- in total but I had a gift card for 20,- which my friends gave me for my birthday so I also spent that. 

More about Smashbox

What’s this hype about Smashbox? Well, it’s similar to M.A.C cosmetics, made by the Factor-brothers (Max Factor) and currently a part of  Estée Lauder cosmetics. Smashbox had some starting problems because their former PR was drugged and raped by someone who happened to be a friend of the Factors. The brand struggled a lot to make its comeback and finally got famous for its primers. 

Smashbox cosmetics are especially made for photoshoots because they last longer and are oil-free and give a flawless skin-effect. 

3 thoughts on “Smashbox

Leave a Reply

